Good news for all Streathamites


Nestled in amongst the multitude of estate agents, barbers and KFCs on Streatham High Road, Streatham has a new opening that everyone needs to know about.

Owned and managed by the lovely Emma Wilson herself, Emma Wilson Urban Spa opened in Streatham at the beginning of March this year, bringing a little bit of calm and luxury to the busy high road. The salon itself has a tranquil, beachy feel and the decor is very chic – all the wood used to create the counters, bar and wall are reclaimed and locally sourced from within a two mile radius of the Streatham salon. You would never know from the calming interiors that you were metres from Europe’s longest and busiest high street!

A little oasis of calm on the busy high road

Emma is originally from the west coast of Ireland and the core brand, Voya, that she uses in the salon, uses seaweed from her hometown of County Sligo. All of the ingredients are organic and perfectly suited for someone with sensitive skin like me, who is a little cautious of putting new products on my face.

img_1786

Voya product range

I was invited by Emma to try a tailored treatment: a combination that included a salt scrub, back massage and a HEAVENLY facial and scalp massage. Emma asked me a few questions before – smells I like, my general body temperature (my hands and feet are always cold!), how firm I would like to be massaged – allowing her to tailor each of the treatments to exactly what I like most e.g. she used hot towels and heated the treatment table so I stayed nice and warm during the session.

The treatment room

Although perhaps slightly pricier than some salons in Streatham, there is no doubt at all that you get what you pay for at Emma Wilson Urban Spa; the staff are lovely, the salon is beautifully decorated and the treatments and products are natural and high quality, tailored to each person.  The only improvement I could add to the overall experience would be if they had a sauna or steam room to use before the treatments! After my treatment I was offered a cup of seaweed mint tea at the little bar that Emma has crafted in the back of the salon to discuss the treatments I had received and the products used. I came away feeling truly pampered and relaxed and my skin felt really soft and silky. And the best thing – it is only a 5 minute walk from my front door 🙂

I have also since been using Voya “Cleanse and Mend” cleansing lotion for sensitive skin which is doing wonders for my skin. It cost £23 and is a pump action bottle. I just apply it by hand morning and evening and so far the results are clearer skin and noticeably clearer pores on my chin and nose. Which is good news for the wedding in TWO WEEKS TIME!!!!

So here is it:

COST: 4/5 – A 1hr 15m massage is around £60 and a facial is between £60-80, therefore the salon isn’t a cheap option by Streatham standards, but is about average for London generally. However as I have already mentioned above, you really do get what you pay for in terms of the quality of service and products and the overall experience and it really isn’t comparable to your average Streatham “salon”. More information on prices is available on the website.

CLEANLINESS: 5/5

IN THREE WORDS: TRANQUIL, PAMPERING and STYLISH

I can’t recommend Emma Wilson Urban Spa enough and will definitely be going back there. For more information on Voya and the treatments Emma offers, visit  http://www.emmawilsonurbanspa.co.uk

Leave a Reply

